Marty Arganbright

Chief Deputy:
Jeremy Bennett


Todd Thorn

Jesse Swensen

Kent Gries

Blake Michelsen

Steven Henry

Civil Clerk:
Leora Laughery


Mike Herbert



Amy Cleveland
Charles Cleveland

Karla Lane

Paula Martinson
Krysty Melton

Denise Reno

Phone: (641) 747-2214
Fax: (641) 747-3346

Guthrie County Sheriff
200 North 5th Street
Guthrie Center, IA 50115

Hrs: 24 hours/day


Application for Employment

Guthrie County Main > Sheriff

Guthrie County Sheriff
The county's principal peace officer is the Guthrie County Sheriff, who is elected every four years. Currently, the Sheriff is Marty Arganbright. The Sheriff and Sheriff's Deputies are the police force for residents of the unincorporated areas of the county.

The Sheriff's Office handles all routine and emergency calls for these areas, and regularly patrols all areas of the county.

The Sheriff's Office also issues permits to purchase and carry firearms and houses the Guthrie County Jail.


News of Interest:

Non Professional Permits to Carry

HSI Victim Notification Program

Upcoming Events:

Iowa Bankers Mortgage Corp vs Rebecca L. Pittman, EQCV082651 6/01/2017 at 10:00 A.M. Judgment amount $72,280.81 plus $285.00 costs plus accruing costs Addr: 408 Van Nest St, Jamaica, IA 50128 - Delayed until 07/20/2017.

Veridian Credit Union vs Kevin & Amy Billings, et al., 7/20/2017 at 10:00 AM. Judgment $18,248.26 Addr: 106 3rd St, Bayard, IA 50029

PHH Mortgage Corp vs Jack & Rhonda Richards, et al., 7/27/2017 10:00 AM. Judgment $74,271.85 Addr: 1108 Hwy 25, Bagley, IA 50026

Nationstar Mortgage LLC vs Kim & Donna Hester, 7/27/2017 10:00 AM. Judgment $19,821.57 Addr: 301 E 2nd St, Casey, IA 50048

Guthrie Co. State Bank vs Wayne and Vanessa Miller et al., 08/03/2017 10:00 AM. Judgment $48,596.61 Addr: 405 N 5th St, Guthrie Center, IA 50115

First State Bank vs Faux Inc, Randy & Doris Faux, et al., 08/03/2017 10:00 AM. Judgment $152,247.54 Addr: 114 NW 2nd St, Stuart, IA 50250

Glen Riesenberg vs Mark Quinn aka Mark Guinn, 8/10/2017 at 10:00 AM. Judgement $12,373.24 Addr: 113 NE 2nd St, Stuart, IA 50250

Wells Fargo Bank, NA vs Samuel L Staffan, AKA Samuel Staffan, Spouse of Samuel Staffan AKA Samuel Staffan, and parties in possession, 8/10/2017 at 10:00 AM. Judgement $41,228.37 Addr: 113 Allen St. Bayard, IA 50029.



Relevant Links
Sex Offender Registry
National Center for Missing and Exploited Children
Iowa Department of Public Safety
Iowa State Patrol
Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI)
Iowa Department of Transportation
Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment
Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA)
Concerns of Police Survivors - The Source for Law Enforcement


Acceptable Use

Guthrie County has attempted to insure accurate information is posted to this site. However, Guthrie County does not warrant nor guarantee the accuracy, reliability or timeliness of information on this site or information referenced or linked by this site.